About Us

Lawyers Club established the Belva Lockwood Award in 1985 to recognize members whose contributions to the organization are outstanding. The award is named for Belva Anne Lockwood (1830-1917), who devoted her life to improving the social, economic and political status of women and to advocating equality for all.

About Belva Ann Lockwood
Her career was a series of firsts, including being the first woman attorney to be admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court (in 1879) and other federal courts, and the first woman to run for the office of President of the United States (in 1884 and 1888). Lawyers Club salutes Belva Lockwood’s personal courage and commitment to equality and is proud to honor her memory with this award.

Recipients of the Lawyers Club of San Diego Belva Lockwood Award:

2020 Christina Dyer

Lawyers Club is pleased to recognize Christina “Tina” Dyer, a past President of Lawyers Club, as the recipient of the 2020 Belva Lockwood Award.

Tina Dyer’s perseverance and strength in the face of adversity helped her succeed during a time when few women worked in the legal field. She was one of only 17 female law students (out of 175 students) her first year of law school at California Western School of Law. In true Lawyers Club spirit, Dyer met the problem with a solution--joining the Student Bar Association as an advocate for women students.

Dyer’s leadership and passion for women’s rights extended beyond law school level when she became involved with Lawyers Club during its infancy. She attended her first Lawyers Club meeting as a law student and was inspired by the words of March Fong Eu—who became the first Asian American woman elected to be the Secretary of State for California, and the first Asian American woman to be elected to a state constitutional office in the entire country. This meeting left an indelible impression on Dyer, and she continued to be involved with Lawyers Club for the next 48 years (and counting) in various leadership roles.

Dyer served as Lawyers Club President in 1985-1986 and was sworn in as President at the very first Lawyers Club Annual Dinner.


2019 Regina Petty
2018 Hon. Randa Trapp
2017 Nadia Bermudez
2016 Hon. Cynthia Bashant
2015 Hon. Katherine Bacal
2014 Teresa M. Beck
2013 Elaine Alexander
2012 Professor C. Hugh Friedman
2011 Vickie Turner
2010 Jay Jeffcoat
2009 Jane Engelman
2008 Hon. Patricia Yim Cowett
2007 Lilys D. McCoy
2006 Jill Burkhardt
2005 DeAnn Salcido
2004 Hon. Stephanie Sontag
2003 George W. Brewster Jr.
2002 Hon. Cindy Dobler Davis
2001 Janice F. Mulligan


2000 Candace M. Carroll
1999 Cynthia Thornton
1998 Hon. Madge Bradley
1997 Hon. Paula S. Rosenstein
1996 Kitty Juniper
1995 Rivian Taylor
1994 Janice Kaye Ranson
1993 Judith Copeland
1992 Bonnie Reading
1991 Charles Bird
1990 Paula Hui
1989 Hon. Maria Arroyo Prokop
1988 Bonnie Dumanis
1987 Hon. Marilyn Huff
1986 Hon. Anthony Joseph
1985 Betty Evans Boone