About Us

Lawyers Club established the C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award in 2013 to recognize members in practice seven years or less who are champions in advancing Lawyers Club's mission and demonstrating leadership and professionalism within the San Diego legal community.

The award is named for Lawyers Club founding member Professor C. Hugh Friedman (1931-2013), husband to Lawyers Club founding mother, the Honorable Lynn Schenk, and the longest-serving professor in the history of University of San Diego School of Law.

Professor C. Hugh Friedman and Hon. Lynn Schenk

At the May 16, 2013 Annual Dinner, we introduced the C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer Award with this video:

Professor Friedman's excellence in the practice of law and his deep commitment to community service and gender equality have set high standards for our junior attorney members. Read more about Professor Friedman in this interview by California Business Practice - Issue One. Lawyers Club is proud to honor Professor Friedman's legacy with this award.

2021 C. Hugh Friedman New Lawyer - Megan Walker

Raised in Indiana, Walker is the daughter of a career prosecutor and a musician/librarian. Though always fascinated by her father’s anecdotes, Walker shared both parents’ love of the arts from a young age. Walker’s passion grew as she split most of her childhood between piano, flute, dance, and theater. Ultimately, she attended New York University, graduating magna cum laude and earning a Bachelor of Arts degree from the Gallatin School of Individualized Studies, where she studied Entertainment Business and Mathematics. Shortly after graduating, Walker provided support to legal professionals for an international law firm in New York, while simultaneously producing a theatrical production Off-Broadway and earning an Associate’s Degree summa cum laude from the Fashion Institute of Technology. 

After returning to the Midwest to obtain her Juris Doctor from Ohio State University, Walker attended the University of San Diego School of Law for her 3L year. It was then that she joined Lawyers Club at the recommendation of long-time leader, Elizabeth Balfour, and discovered the diverse and remarkable San Diego legal community as a whole. Since beginning her career as an attorney in 2014, Walker has achieved professional excellence within the field of labor and employment law. 

In addition to her professional success, Walker demonstrates exemplary leadership within the community. Walker has been an active member of Lawyers Club since moving to San Diego in 2014. Throughout her Lawyers Club membership, Walker has held multiple leadership positions in the organization, including a three-year term on the Board of Directors, Vice President of Programming, co-chair of the 2019 Annual Dinner, and co-chair of the Human Trafficking Collaborative (“HTC”). During her time as co-chair, Walker led HTC in its efforts to prevent human trafficking and to provide resources for survivors. Currently, Walker continues to address and combat human trafficking by encouraging legal and community support, participating in policy advocacy, and supporting organizations. Walker currently serves as a liaison between Lawyers Club and the San Diego Coalition for Reproductive Justice. Lawyers Club celebrates Walker’s dedication and efforts in the field of restorative justice for victims of sexual violence.     

Outside of Lawyers Club, Walker teaches a class on Human Resources & the Law at the San Diego State University School for Global Studies. She has also provided pro bono legal services at Casa Cornelia Law Center, by assisting victims of violent crimes with their U visa applications. As a lifelong theater enthusiast, she also volunteers with the La Jolla Playhouse Partners.

Walker personifies excellence and has displayed an unwavering commitment to improving the status of women in law and society through both high-level and hands-on community service in the San Diego community. Walker’s passion and commitment to equality and inclusion serve as an inspiration to us all. 

Past Recipients

2020 Catherine Asuncion

2019 Shannon R. Finley

2018 Mehry Mohseni

2017 Parisima Roshanzamir

2016 Carla Sanderson

2015 Rebecca Zipp

2014 Holly Amaya

2013 Amanda Allen